Breaking Now! Sunil Gavaskar’s Exclusive Picks for India’s Dream Team Against Australia! ICC World Cup 2023 Showdown!

Spread the love

India is all set to kickstart its journey in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023, with its first match against Australia on October 8 in Chennai. Recently, both teams had a face-off in a three-game ODI series, serving as a final rehearsal before the grand event.

Significant Change in the Final Squad

On Thursday evening, India disclosed its final 15-player team for the tournament, witnessing a significant alteration. Due to an injury, Axar Patel couldn’t make it, and Ravichandran Ashwin has taken his spot, after initially being left out.

Cricket icon Sunil Gavaskar has shared his selection for India’s starting XI for the inaugural match against Australia.

Also Read: Squad Shakeup! Ashwin Steps In for Axar, Sparks Fly in India’s World Cup Line-up!

He emphasized the vital role of the top-three batsmen in any team while speaking on Star Sports, noting that a strong start by the openers enables the following players to play more freely. Gavaskar has opted for three pacers and two spinners, including Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav. He mentioned the possibility of including Ashwin in the eleven if the team decides to go with two pacers, having Hardik Pandya already, and add an extra spinner.

Team Composition Insights by Gavaskar and Pathan: Strategic Emphasis on Wicket-taking Bowlers

Irfan Pathan concurred with Gavaskar on the top-seven but insisted on having five main bowlers, considering the potential dew factor affecting the bowling under the lights. He highlighted the importance of having bowlers with the ability to take wickets, given the nature of the pitches and the conditions, suggesting the inclusion of main bowlers like Siraj, Shami, and Bumrah, and emphasized having proper bowlers teaming up with Kuldeep Yadav and Jadeja, depending on the pitch conditions.

Here is Sunil Gavaskar’s Recommended Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Jasprit Bumrah.

Leave a Comment